Liza Ferschtman
Marco Borggreve
Maundy thursday, 29 March 2018 | 7.30 pm | Weimar | Musikgymnasium Schloss Belvedere

Liza Ferschtman — violin
Mahan Esfahani — harpsichord

Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber
The Rosary Sonatas
Nos. 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13

The beautiful mystical music of the Rosary Sonatas is heard all too rarely. This cycle of 16 solo sonatas is one in which in the early 18th Century the composer and virtuoso violinist, Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber, captured the mysteries of the rosary in music. The works are extremely difficult and largely composed in a variety of tunings meaning that the star violinist from Holland, Liza Ferschtman, requires as many as seven instruments for this concert. The visual climax of the cycle is in the eleventh sonata where the violin strings are stretched so that they form a cross between the bridge and the tail piece. Ferschtman’s first performance of this cycle in Amsterdam was a sensational event: reason enough not to miss this concert.

tickets 30 € | 15 €
reduced 25 € | 10 €

Please note the second performance of Mahan Esfahani as well.

Bustransfer to Belvedere (parking area) and return 5 € surcharge
departure 18:30 ab from Goetheplatz Weimar
(available in advance only)

Thüringen entdecken