Liza Ferschtman plays the Rosary-Sonatas on March 29 in Weimar

The beautiful mystical music of the Rosary Sonatas is heard all too rarely. This cycle of 16 solo sonatas is one in which in the early 18th Century the composer and virtuoso violinist, Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber, captured the mysteries of the rosary in music. The works are extremely difficult and largely composed in a variety of tunings meaning that the star violinist from Holland, Liza Ferschtman, requires as many as seven instruments for this concert. The visual climax of the cycle is in the eleventh sonata where the violin strings are stretched so that they form a cross between the bridge and the tail piece. Ferschtman’s first performance of this cycle in Amsterdam was a sensational event: reason enough not to miss this concert.

Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber
The Rosary Sonatas
Nos. 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13

MAUNDY THURSDAY, 29 MARCH 2018 | 7.30 pm | Weimar | Musikgymnasium Schloss Belvedere

(c) Marco Borggreve

Liza Ferschtman
Photo: Marco Borggreve

Monday,26.March2018 | Jens Haentzschel

Thüringen entdecken