Bachland-Tour through Arnstadt

Bach and Arnstadt, that is a great passion. The young composer arrived in the town in the summer of 1703 at the age of 18 to start his first post as organist. He must have left behind a great impression when four weeks before he made his first visit to the town on the river Gera with a different purpose: to assess the organ in the new church which had been put up after a major fire in the town. He proved in his playing that he was a true genius and thus Johann Sebastian Bach remained connected with the town in many ways until 1707.

Bachdenkmal Arnstadt

The Bach memorial in the market is a good starting point for a tour of Arnstadt, one of the oldest places in Thuringia. The bronze sculpture was unveiled in 1985 and reactions were divided. In modern parlance it was a cool and, above all, young Bach who idly lolled around on a bench. The artist Bernd Göbel’s sculpture, commissioned to mark the 300th anniversary of Bach’s birth, is certainly unconventional.

The town‘s market square is a gem: one can look out on the historical facades of many of the surrounding houses and, of course, the church which has born the name of the great composer since 1935. The Johann Sebastian Bach Church, or in short form, the Bach Church, is impressive not least because of its special acoustic which derives from the wooden barrel vaulting. The two important organs in the Church, the 1703 Wender organ and the 1913 Steinmeyer organ, were restored and rebuilt between 1997 and 1999. Both instruments are milestones in the art of organ building in central Germany and can regularly be heard in services.

Arnstadt brings to life the tradition of its most famous guest with numerous activities and attractions. Alongside the traditional Arnstadt Bach Festival, there is regularly a small Bach Festival in the summer and before Christmas a “Bach Advent”. One should also not forget the popular regional concert series, the Thuringia Organ Summer.

Pano_Platzhalter_Arnstadt

Interaktives Panorama der Bachkirche

The exhibition “Bach in Arnstadt” in the Castle Museum demonstrates the town’s deep and committed relationship with the history of the Bach family. Numerous members of this family of musicians were active for centuries as organists, city pipers and court musicians. Alongside some artefacts, the exhibition presents a great deal of information about music and the social history of Arnstadt.

Those not strolling in Bach’s footsteps through the narrow lanes should take a closer look at the town’s churches. It is not just the Bach Church which is a worthwhile objective. The Upper Church  and the Church of Our Lady are also important sacred buildings in the town.

And a perfect idea for an excursion lies just a few kilometres away from Arnstadt. In the charming village church of St Bartholomew Johann Sebastian Bach married his second cousin, Maria Barbara Bach, in October 1707. According to historical records the wedding party processed across the fields from Arnstadt to Dornheim. From this marriage came seven children, amongst them the most famous Bach sons, Wilhelm Friedemann and Carl Philipp Emanuel.

1707 was not only the year of this great celebration but also a year of departure. Johann Sebastian Bach left Arnstadt and became organist in the free imperial city of Mühlhausen. He had asked the town council to release him from his contract even before the wedding in Dornheim. However, Arnstadt remained faithful to the Bach family. His successor as organist in Arnstadt was Bach’s cousin, Johann Ernst.

Thüringen entdecken
EFRE Logo
Luther 2017
Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien

gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages

Bachland-Rundgang durch Arnstadt

Bach und Arnstadt, das ist eine große Leidenschaft: Denn der junge Komponist kam 1703 im Alter von 18 Jahren in die Stadt, um dort im sommerlichen August seine erste Organistenstelle anzutreten. Wobei er schon vier Wochen zuvor mächtigen Eindruck hinterlassen haben muss, denn Bachs erste Reise in die Stadt an der Gera hatte einen anderen Anlass: er sollte die neue Orgel in der nach einem Stadtbrand errichteten Neuen Kirche begutachten und erwies sich beim Vorspielen als wahres Genie. Und so blieb Johann Sebastian Bach bis 1707 der Stadt auf vielfältige Weise verbunden.

Bachdenkmal Arnstadt

Für einen Rundgang durch Arnstadt, einer der ältesten Thüringer Orte, ist das Bach-Denkmal auf dem Markt ein guter Ausgangspunkt. 1985 wurde das Bronzeobjekt enthüllt, und die Reaktionen auf den aus heutiger Sprachsicht coolen und vor allem jungen Bach, der hier lässig auf einer Bank lümmelt, waren geteilt. Unkonventionell ist die Plastik des Künstlers Bernd Göbel anlässlich des 300. Geburtstags von Johann Sebastian Bach allemal.

Der Marktplatz der Stadt ist ein Kleinod: Man schaut auf die historischen Fassaden vieler umliegender Häuser und natürlich auch auf die Kirche, die seit 1935 den Namen des großen Komponisten trägt. Die Johann-Sebastian-Bach-Kirche, oder in der Kurzfassung Bachkirche, beeindruckt nicht allein durch die besondere Akustik durch das hölzerne Tonnengewölbe. Die zwei bedeutenden Orgeln der Kirche, die Wender-Orgel von 1703 und die Steinmeyer-Orgel von 1913, wurden zwischen 1997 und 1999 rekonstruiert und restauriert. Beide Instrumente sind Meilensteine der Orgelkunst in Mitteldeutschland und regelmäßig in Gottesdiensten zu hören.

Arnstadt belebt die Tradition ihres wohl berühmtesten Gastes mit zahlreichen Aktivitäten und auch Attraktionen. Neben dem traditionellen Bach-Festival Arnstadt gibt es im Sommer regelmäßig ein weiteres kleines Bachfestival und im Winter den vorweihnachtlichen „Bach Advent“. Nicht zu vergessen die beliebte überregionale Konzertreihe „Thüringer Orgelsommer“.

Pano_Platzhalter_Arnstadt

Interaktives Panorama der Bachkirche

Mit der Ausstellung „Bach in Arnstadt“ im Schlossmuseum zeigt die Stadt zudem ihre tiefe und engagierte Verbundenheit zur Geschichte der Familie Bach. Zahlreiche Mitglieder dieser Musikerfamilie waren über Jahrhunderte hinweg als Organisten, Stadtpfeifer und Hofmusiker tätig. Die Ausstellung präsentiert neben einigen Exponaten viel Wissenswertes rund um die Musik- und Sozialgeschichte Arnstadts.

Wer nicht auf Bachs Spuren durch die engen Gassen flaniert, der sollte sich die Kirchen der Stadt genauer anschauen. Nicht nur die Bachkirche ist ein lohnendes Ziel, auch die Oberkirche oder die Liebfrauenkirche gehören zu wichtigen sakralen Bauten in der Stadt.

Und ein perfekter Ausflugstipp liegt nur wenige Kilometer von Arnstadt entfernt. In der charmanten Dorfkirche St. Bartholomäus heiratete Johann Sebastian Bach im Oktober 1707 seine Cousine 2. Grades Maria Barbara Bach. Der Überlieferung historischer Schriften nach zog die Hochzeitsgesellschaft von Arnstadt über die Felder nach Dornheim. Aus der Ehe entstammen sieben Kinder, darunter die bekanntesten Bachsöhne Wilhelm Friedemann und Carl Philipp Emanuel.

1707 war nicht nur das Jahr dieser großen Feier, sondern auch ein Jahr des Abschieds. Johann Sebastian Bach verließ Arnstadt und wurde Organist in der freien Reichsstadt Mühlhausen. Noch vor der Hochzeit in Dornheim bat er den Rat der Stadt um die Auflösung seines Vertrages. Doch Arnstadt blieb der Familie Bach treu. Nachfolger im Amt des Organisten in Arnstadt wurde Bachs Vetter Johann Ernst.

Thüringen entdecken
EFRE Logo