Bach with his cousin in Meiningen

Exactly when Johann Sebastian Bach visited his older cousin Johann Ludwig in the idyllic Meiningen is still not known today. Yet he appreciated his works and completed transcriptions of several cantatas and performed them in 1726 in the large churches of Leipzig.

Schloss Elisabethenburg Meiningen

Schloss Elisabethenburg Meiningen Caption

This assistant who performed at the Meiningen court chapel eventually rose to servant-teacher and cantor. After Georg Caspar Schürmann’s depature, he began managing the instruments and musical accompaniment of courtyard festivities in Meiningen and Coburg. Johann Ludwig Bach became court chapel master in 1711.

For him that was not always an enjoyment, as we now know today. Bach’s ten-year-long conflict with chapel members eventually went to court. An especially impressive work stems from 1724 – the funeral music for Duke Ernst Ludwig I of Sachsen-Coburg-Meiningen – a time at which Duke Anton Ulrich of Sachsen-Meiningen was in Vienna putting together the largest complete collection of baroque vocal music.

Thüringen entdecken
EFRE Logo

Bach bei seinem Vetter in Meiningen

Wann Johann Sebastian Bach seinen älteren Vetter Johann Ludwig im idyllischen Meiningen besuchte, ist bislang nicht bekannt. Doch er schätzte dessen Werke, fertigte Abschriften an und führte u. a. 1726 einige der Kantaten in den Leipziger Hauptkirchen auf.

Schloss Elisabethenburg Meiningen

Schloss Elisabethenburg Meiningen | © Roland Wehking

Der in der Meininger Hofkapelle musizierende Lakai stieg zum Pagen-Lehrer und Kantor auf. Nach Georg Caspar Schürmanns Weggang übernahm er die Verwaltung der Instrumente und die musikalische Ausgestaltung von Hoffesten in Meiningen und Coburg. 1711 wurde Johann Ludwig Bach Hofkapellmeister.

Keine reine Freude, wie wir heute wissen. Bachs zehn Jahre dauernder Streit mit Kapell-Mitgliedern ging bis vor Gericht. Von 1724 stammt ein besonders eindrucksvolles Werk – die Trauermusik auf Herzog Ernst Ludwig I. von Sachsen-Coburg-Meiningen. Aus einer Zeit, als Herzog Anton Ulrich von Sachsen-Meiningen in Wien weilte und die größte erhaltene Sammlung barocker Vokalmusik außerhalb anlegte.

Thüringen entdecken
EFRE Logo
Luther 2017
Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien

gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages